Sporadic Schedule

Today I had a shorter day. I attended a labour arbitration for one of our members. It kind of makes up for the 14-16 hour marathon bargaining sessions we are planning for Thursday and Monday. It doesn’t really make up for it, but I knew what I was running for when I got elected. Note to anybody looking to do union work: if you like a consistent schedule, don’t do it!

Arbitration occurs when a grievance goes to the final step and is still not settled to the satisfaction of the union or employer. In this particular case, while I cannot provide details, I can say that we felt this individual was disciplined far too harshly. Whenever you bring an outside person in to solve an issue both parties will walk away not totally pleased with the results. The best solution is the one that the parties can come to on their own.

So I have not blogged at all due to the long days and nights I have been working. I also have a personal life which needs attention or she will get angry. Yes I meant to say she! My spouse tells me that I do a fantastic job keeping work and home separate, but as the stress of bargaining (on top of other duties) increases, that becomes more difficult.

I have rules that I follow for my own personal balance. Unless it’s a dire emergency, I don’t answer the phone after 6pm. I do not do union work from home whenever possible. The exception would be replying to emails. I do not talk about what I am doing at work except for the broadest of strokes. I generally get home early because I start early, so I may do a little work before the family arrives, but only upstairs, away from the kids when they arrive home.

Work life balance is the most important thing that I cherish. I put work before my family in my first marriage and it failed miserably. We all make mistakes. I am now happier than I have ever been and I intend to stay this way. Work used to be my escape to happiness, now it’s the time I spend with my family, which includes 2 dogs.

Don’t let work, whatever work you do, take priority over the things you love and cherish. You will be a more balanced and happy person in the long run. It will give you the energy to fight for what is right.

5 responses to “Sporadic Schedule

  1. Welcome back, I hope all is worked out. 🙂

Leave a comment