Daily Archives: March 12, 2014

Unions and Social Activism

 20140312-100635.jpg

So everybody knows what a union is, right? It’s a group of workers that have banded together to improve working conditions for the group. In the beginning of the industrial revolution, child labour was common. When somebody was killed in the workplace, the damaged product cost was deducted from the wages paid out to the family. The employers were rich, or what we call the 1% today and the worker could barely eat. Six or seven days a week with twelve hour days were common.

The workers started to get the idea that this was an injustice and because this blog could be read internationally, I am not getting into specific dates. Basically workers began to band together and stand up to the employers in what eventually became the labour movement. In Canada the Labour Unions fought for a shorter work week, maternity benefits, equal pay regardless of gender, human rights, safety legislation and so much more. The unions created the middle class. There is power in numbers. Solidarity builds strength. If you live in Canada and enjoy your weekends, thank the unions.

Facebook-20140312-042257

I have been a union member for ten years. I immediately understood the benefits of solidarity. All unions are political animals too, but I enjoy the political aspect. We have division at times, but the leadership is there to keep us on track. We have around 650 members. If you go in and ask your boss for a raise, you may get one, but when all 650 of you come in; the employer cannot ignore that.

I have been elected as one of the top executive officers of my local. I did not get hired, I was chosen by my brothers and sisters to defend them when they are disciplined, negotiate a collective agreement and show leadership in our workplace. I am very honored to serve in this capacity. It is very difficult at times, but it can be rewarding as well. I get to be the advocate for the worker.

Facebook-20140312-041857

This advocacy has spread into other areas as well. I use this position as my soapbox to advance agendas that I feel are important. There are many social issues that I use my position to address. The skills I have learned are making me an outspoken anti abuse activist. I have done marches against poverty. I flew to Ottawa to lobby my member of parliament on a proposed bill that could become law. I worked on the election campaign for my local Provincial Member of Parliament. She has taken the good jobs pledge as well as holding the government accountable for lapses in Health and Safety law. One worker dies at work almost every single day in Ontario alone.

The unions are places where an ordinary worker like myself can fight against injustices everyday. One voice is strong, but many voices, speaking together is a cacophony for change.

20140312-124329.jpg