Daily Archives: March 28, 2014

No “I” in team

I know it’s kind of a cliche, but there really are no individual people on a truly united team. Our bargaining continues. We have set more dates to meet and they go into mid April now.

At first this bargaining was getting me down a little and I found it quite stressful. Now, I have a different attitude. We truly have a great team. We have good, solid people that have the membership’s best interests in mind. We are bargaining in the toughest economic climate in many years. The entire union movement is under attack across North America. What a time to bargain!

Before we sat down at the table with the employer, I spent over 2 months doing research. I’m sorry, the team spent over 2 months doing research. Don’t let anybody tell you that researching labour law, employment standards, arbitration decisions and reading other collective agreements from other workplaces is fun! There were times that I thought my eyes would bleed and my head would explode.

As we hammered out our positions we fought. We had some brawls! As the dust settled we emerged together and solid. There is no division now. There is one page and we are all on it.

Now as we continue to work toward an agreement, I am reaching a point where I do not really want it to end. Everyday that we bargain, I spend the day, and boy do we have some long ones, with the strongest and the smartest people I know. The camaraderie that has developed is what I will miss the most. Seeing each member and the passion that they bring to the table inspires me. Our president knows the law much better than I do and I have learned so much. I know more about the other departments now. It is like being on a sports team that has made it to the playoffs, so obviously, not the Toronto Maple Leafs most years. There is a chemistry that has developed and could never be duplicated. It is like an organic thing that has taken on a life of it’s own.

I have never worked in such close proximity with others in my life. My work history has some pretty individual effort jobs. I worked as a mechanic; you work on the car until you are done. Somebody may hold a wrench for you. I worked in a factory; it was piece work and every person for themselves. Whichever worker had the most done when the order was finished made the most money. I was a truck driver, the only person in a workplace of one. I did what I wanted and did not need to play well with others.

This is a different role, but one that I will miss. Each and every bargaining day we get locked in a little room. We work together to determine our positions. We form united positions and everybody has a say. Most of all, I will miss the working lunches. We always eat as a team. We laugh, joke and blow off steam. It is the very best part of the day. When we ratify the contract, it’s over. Any frustration I had with the delays has gone. Frustration leads to stress and high blood pressure. My blood pressure is optimal today. If only the other things in my life worked this well…